How Keep Above compares with other budgeting apps

Keep Above is a budgeting app where you enter each bill and your income once, keep your balance current now and then, and read a projection of your balance and reserved funds from that. This page sets its documented features beside those of other budgeting apps, cell by cell, each cell taken from that app's own published pages on the date shown.

Written and maintained by Manandai Ltd, the company that makes Keep Above. This is our comparison, not an independent review. There is no score, no star rating and no winner here, and the table is alphabetical. How we compare.

Features and prices change. Check each provider before deciding.

Spotted something out of date? Email support@keepabove.com and we correct or remove it within five business days.

Not affiliated with or endorsed by any app named here. Product names are trademarks of their owners.

Last verified 22 September 2026
Alphabetical. Where an app's own documentation does not state something, the cell says so rather than calling the feature absent. Prices are the vendor's list price on the date above, in the currency that vendor quotes.
App Bank connection Manual entry Recurring bills Forecast horizon Sinking funds or goals Price Source
Actual BudgetOptional, credentials you supplyYes, primarySchedules: auto-add, or approve eachBalance Forecast report, experimental; 12 months in one mode, a range you set in the otherEnvelope budgetingFree, open sourceschedules · forecast
Booster mybudgetpalRequired for syncManual entries and CSVBill calendar and remindersNot documentedSavings goalsFreeFAQ
BuddyOptionalSupportedRecurring entriesBudget "left to spend"Budgets and targetsUS$9.99/mo or $49.99/yrsite · App Store
BudgetBuddieOn the paid tiers; the free tier states it does not include oneYes, under its own heading in the help centreA repeat cadence on a cashflow lineA month at a time, 12 months aheadGoalsFree; $9.50 to $13.80/mo, Pro $138/yr — its pricing page states no currencypricing · help
BuxferOptionalManual and file uploadUnlimited repeatingForecast on upper tiers; horizon not statedBudgets with rolloverFrom US$7.99/mo billed annuallypricing
CashewIts pages state nothing about connecting to a bankYes, primaryNext occurrence on paid or skippedNot documentedBudgets and goalsFree; Pro US$11.99/yrFAQ · App Store
CopilotUS institutions only; its own pricing block invites a look before you connectManual accountsRecurringsNot documentedSavings goalsUS$95/yrhelp · pricing
DudgetNot offeredYesCategory budgets per cycleThe current cycleIts pages state nothing about a goal or money set asideFree; Premium US$24.99/yrsite
EmmaRequiredOffline accounts on the Pro and Ultimate tiersBill reminders on paid tiersNot documentedSaving goals on paid tiersFree; from £4.99/moplans
EveryDollarOptional, paid tier; USYes, free versionNo auto-posting recurring documentedWithin the month, paid tierFundsFree; Premium US$79.99/yrhelp centre
FrolloOpen Banking where availableAssets and liabilities by handBills with due-date alertsNot documentedGoalsFreeapp
FudgetNot offeredYes, the whole modelStar an entry to repeatNot documentedIts pages state nothing about a goal or money set asideFree; Plus US$19.99/yrsite
GoodbudgetOptional, paid tier; US banksYes, primaryScheduled fills post themselvesNot documentedEnvelopesFree; Premium US$10/mo or US$80/yrpricing · help
HarbourlineNot offeredYesBills funded from the next payday13 weeks"Set aside" and savings goalsFree; household A$2.50/weeksite
Keep AboveNone, by designYes, the whole modelEnter once, projected forward30 years, free plan and Premium alikeReserved funds and savings goalsFree; Premium from about US$6.99/mosupport
Lunch MoneyOptional; 13 countriesManual accounts and CSVRecurring itemsNot documentedBudget with rolloverUS$10/mo; the annual plan is pay-what-you-want, shown at US$100/yrfeatures · pricing
MobillsOptional; Brazil onlyYes, base modeFixed and repeatedNot documentedObjetivosR$99.90/yr; free planpricing
MonarchOptional; manual accounts documented; US and CanadaManual accounts and CSVAuto-detectedTo a date you set, upper tierSave Up and Pay Down goalsUS$99.99/yr; Plus US$199.99/yrpricing · help
MonefyNot offeredYes, the only modePosts automaticallyNot documentedBudget limitFree; Premium US$59.99, billing period not statedhelp · App Store
Money LoverOptional, a separate paid add-on; seven Asian markets the vendor namesYesRecurring remindersNot documentedSavings goalsFree; lifetime US$19.99site · App Store
Money ManagerIts pages state nothing about a bank feedYes, primaryRepeat posts on its dateNot documentedBudget and assetsFree with ads; ad-free US$5.99 one-time; data sync US$2.49/mo or US$19.99/yrApp Store · help
NEKONot offered; statement importYesRecurring bills and income on a calendar"Projected daily balance as far ahead as your bills and income go"Not namedFree; in-app purchasessite
PayAnchorOptionalYesBills against a cushionTo the next paycheckSavings bucketsFree to 10 bills; Pro US$79.99/yrsite
PayCheck BudgetNot offeredYesBills assigned to paychecksTo payday and the weeks afterSavings goalsFrom US$29.99/yr introductorysite
PlumRequiredA manual connection is documentedAutomations rather than billsNot statedPocketsFree; from £3.99/mosite
PocketSmithOptional; 49 countries, including NZ and AUYesRepeating budgets project forward6 months to 60 years by planBudgets; Safe BalanceFree; from NZ$9.99/mo billed annuallyplans · bank feeds
Quicken SimplifiOptional; United StatesManual accountsAuto-detected seriesUp to a year in advanceSavings goals and watchlistsUS$6.99/mo billed annually; often promoted at US$3.99pricing · cash flow
Rocket MoneyUS institutions onlyPaid tier supplement onlyDetected from linked accountsIts pages state nothing about a forward horizonFinancial goalsFree; Premium US$7 to $14/mo, a range in the vendor's own pricing data; Premium+ US$15/mo, a separate fixed tierpricing · help
SnoopNot needed to sign up; budgeting and spending tracking need oneOffline accounts you update yourself; bills can be added by handBill-cover warnings; regular payments are detected rather than enteredA bills timeline to the end of the month, and the following month or pay cycle; no longer horizon statedIts pages state nothing about a pot or a goalFree; Plus £47.99/yrhelp centre
Sorted budget plannerIts pages state nothing about a connectionYesWeekly to yearly frequenciesIts pages state nothing about a forecastA separate goal plannerFreeplanner
SortMeRequired, all plansCSV importRecurring income and bills, projected forward6 to 12 monthsGoalsFrom NZ$29/mopricing · forecast
SpendeeOptionalYes, primary on the free planScheduled on manual wallets onlyNot documentedBudgetsFree; Plus from $1.99/mo; the page names no currencypricing · help
SteadyOnboarding starts by connecting a bankCSV on the paid tierRecurring-bill detection12 months on Plus; the free tier lists noneGoalsFree; Plus NZ$12.99/mo, introductory NZ$6.50 for 3 monthssite
ToshlOptional, top tierYes, primary on the free planRepeating entries on the paid tier5 future months on the paid tier, 4 on iOSBudgetsFree; Pro US$19.99/yrplans · App Store
Wallet by BudgetBakersOptional, paid tierYes; the free tier is manualPlanned payments: manual or automaticExpected balance after upcoming paymentsGoals and budgetsFree plus a paid tierproduct · planned payments
WeMoneyRequiredNot documentedRecurring expensesNot documentedGoalsFree; Pro A$9.99/mo or A$99/yrPro page
YNABOptional; US, Canada, UK and EU banks namedYes, first-classScheduled transactions enter unapproved until you approve or an import matchesNot documentedTargetsUS$109/yrpricing

What do the columns mean?

  • Bank connection. Whether the app reads your transactions from your bank. "Required" means the app's own documentation describes the connection as how it works; "optional" means it documents a way to use the app without one.
  • Recurring bills. What the app does once a repeating bill is set up: whether it posts the next one itself, waits for you to approve it, or simply reminds you.
  • Forecast horizon. How far ahead the vendor states its forward projection reaches, and on which plan. Most budgeting apps document none, which is what a blank cell here means.
  • Sinking funds or goals. Money set aside a little at a time for a bill that comes later. Every app has its own word for it, and the column uses that word.

What does Keep Above not do?

Most of the apps above capture your transactions for you, sort them into categories and show you what you spent. Keep Above does none of that. It shows no spending history, it does not know your real balance unless you enter it, and it does not move money or pay bills.

What it does instead is work forward. You enter each bill and your income once, keep your balance current now and then, and it works out the balance you would need to cover everything coming and projects that and your reserved funds ahead day by day. Whether that trade suits you is the whole question, and it is not one this page answers for you.

Who is Keep Above for?

The most useful thing a comparison can tell you is whether a thing is aimed at you at all, so here it is both ways round.

It is built for you if

You are paid on a cycle, weekly, fortnightly, four-weekly or monthly, and what you want to know is what would be safe to spend before the next pay. Your regular bills are fine and it is the irregular ones that catch you out. You would rather not log every purchase, or a bank feed is not available where you live. And you would rather see a tight spot before it lands than read about it afterwards.

It is not built for you if

You want a categorised record of where your money went, because Keep Above keeps none. You want transactions captured for you rather than a balance you update. You want to split costs with flatmates or track investments, neither of which it does. Or you would rather not keep one number current now and then, which is the one thing it asks of you and the thing everything else rests on.

Read further

Our comparison, not a review. Every cell describes what that app's own pages document, on the date shown above the table. Projections described here are conditional on the figures a person enters and on nothing changing. This page takes no account of your circumstances. Nothing here is financial advice.

Keep Above

Enter each bill and your income once, and keep your balance current now and then. Keep Above works out the balance you would need to cover everything coming, and projects your balance and your sinking funds — which it calls reserved funds — forward. No bank connection.

Download on the App Store Get it on Google Play

About this comparison

Who is Keep Above for?

People who are paid on a cycle and want to know what would be safe to spend before the next pay, whose irregular bills are the ones that catch them out, and who would rather not log every purchase or cannot link a bank where they live. It is not for someone who wants a categorised record of where their money went, because it keeps none.

What does Keep Above do differently?

It has no bank connection and keeps no spending history. You enter each bill and your income once and keep your balance current now and then, and it projects your balance and your sinking funds — which it calls reserved funds — forward from that, up to 30 years ahead on the free plan and on Premium alike.

What does Keep Above not do that these other apps do?

It does not capture your transactions automatically, categorise them, show you a spending history or produce category reports, and it does not know your real balance unless you enter it. It also does not move money or pay bills. Apps built around a bank connection do the first group, and transaction-logging apps keep the record.

What does it mean when a cell says nothing is stated?

Where an app's own documentation does not state something, the cell says its pages state nothing about it. That is a fact about the documentation, not a claim that the feature is absent. A cell reading Not offered means the vendor states the absence itself. Every cell traces to a page the vendor publishes, linked in the last column and checked on the date shown above the table, and where a row carries two links it takes both to cover it.

Is this an independent review?

No. It is written and maintained by Manandai Ltd, the company that makes Keep Above. There is no score, no star rating and no winner anywhere in this section, and the table is ordered alphabetically rather than by preference.