How Keep Above compares with other budgeting apps
Keep Above is a budgeting app where you enter each bill and your income once, keep your balance current now and then, and read a projection of your balance and reserved funds from that. This page sets its documented features beside those of other budgeting apps, cell by cell, each cell taken from that app's own published pages on the date shown.
Written and maintained by Manandai Ltd, the company that makes Keep Above. This is our comparison, not an independent review. There is no score, no star rating and no winner here, and the table is alphabetical. How we compare.
Features and prices change. Check each provider before deciding.
Spotted something out of date? Email support@keepabove.com and we correct or remove it within five business days.
Not affiliated with or endorsed by any app named here. Product names are trademarks of their owners.
Last verified 22 September 2026| App | Bank connection | Manual entry | Recurring bills | Forecast horizon | Sinking funds or goals | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Actual Budget | Optional, credentials you supply | Yes, primary | Schedules: auto-add, or approve each | Balance Forecast report, experimental; 12 months in one mode, a range you set in the other | Envelope budgeting | Free, open source | schedules · forecast |
| Booster mybudgetpal | Required for sync | Manual entries and CSV | Bill calendar and reminders | Not documented | Savings goals | Free | FAQ |
| Buddy | Optional | Supported | Recurring entries | Budget "left to spend" | Budgets and targets | US$9.99/mo or $49.99/yr | site · App Store |
| BudgetBuddie | On the paid tiers; the free tier states it does not include one | Yes, under its own heading in the help centre | A repeat cadence on a cashflow line | A month at a time, 12 months ahead | Goals | Free; $9.50 to $13.80/mo, Pro $138/yr — its pricing page states no currency | pricing · help |
| Buxfer | Optional | Manual and file upload | Unlimited repeating | Forecast on upper tiers; horizon not stated | Budgets with rollover | From US$7.99/mo billed annually | pricing |
| Cashew | Its pages state nothing about connecting to a bank | Yes, primary | Next occurrence on paid or skipped | Not documented | Budgets and goals | Free; Pro US$11.99/yr | FAQ · App Store |
| Copilot | US institutions only; its own pricing block invites a look before you connect | Manual accounts | Recurrings | Not documented | Savings goals | US$95/yr | help · pricing |
| Dudget | Not offered | Yes | Category budgets per cycle | The current cycle | Its pages state nothing about a goal or money set aside | Free; Premium US$24.99/yr | site |
| Emma | Required | Offline accounts on the Pro and Ultimate tiers | Bill reminders on paid tiers | Not documented | Saving goals on paid tiers | Free; from £4.99/mo | plans |
| EveryDollar | Optional, paid tier; US | Yes, free version | No auto-posting recurring documented | Within the month, paid tier | Funds | Free; Premium US$79.99/yr | help centre |
| Frollo | Open Banking where available | Assets and liabilities by hand | Bills with due-date alerts | Not documented | Goals | Free | app |
| Fudget | Not offered | Yes, the whole model | Star an entry to repeat | Not documented | Its pages state nothing about a goal or money set aside | Free; Plus US$19.99/yr | site |
| Goodbudget | Optional, paid tier; US banks | Yes, primary | Scheduled fills post themselves | Not documented | Envelopes | Free; Premium US$10/mo or US$80/yr | pricing · help |
| Harbourline | Not offered | Yes | Bills funded from the next payday | 13 weeks | "Set aside" and savings goals | Free; household A$2.50/week | site |
| Keep Above | None, by design | Yes, the whole model | Enter once, projected forward | 30 years, free plan and Premium alike | Reserved funds and savings goals | Free; Premium from about US$6.99/mo | support |
| Lunch Money | Optional; 13 countries | Manual accounts and CSV | Recurring items | Not documented | Budget with rollover | US$10/mo; the annual plan is pay-what-you-want, shown at US$100/yr | features · pricing |
| Mobills | Optional; Brazil only | Yes, base mode | Fixed and repeated | Not documented | Objetivos | R$99.90/yr; free plan | pricing |
| Monarch | Optional; manual accounts documented; US and Canada | Manual accounts and CSV | Auto-detected | To a date you set, upper tier | Save Up and Pay Down goals | US$99.99/yr; Plus US$199.99/yr | pricing · help |
| Monefy | Not offered | Yes, the only mode | Posts automatically | Not documented | Budget limit | Free; Premium US$59.99, billing period not stated | help · App Store |
| Money Lover | Optional, a separate paid add-on; seven Asian markets the vendor names | Yes | Recurring reminders | Not documented | Savings goals | Free; lifetime US$19.99 | site · App Store |
| Money Manager | Its pages state nothing about a bank feed | Yes, primary | Repeat posts on its date | Not documented | Budget and assets | Free with ads; ad-free US$5.99 one-time; data sync US$2.49/mo or US$19.99/yr | App Store · help |
| NEKO | Not offered; statement import | Yes | Recurring bills and income on a calendar | "Projected daily balance as far ahead as your bills and income go" | Not named | Free; in-app purchases | site |
| PayAnchor | Optional | Yes | Bills against a cushion | To the next paycheck | Savings buckets | Free to 10 bills; Pro US$79.99/yr | site |
| PayCheck Budget | Not offered | Yes | Bills assigned to paychecks | To payday and the weeks after | Savings goals | From US$29.99/yr introductory | site |
| Plum | Required | A manual connection is documented | Automations rather than bills | Not stated | Pockets | Free; from £3.99/mo | site |
| PocketSmith | Optional; 49 countries, including NZ and AU | Yes | Repeating budgets project forward | 6 months to 60 years by plan | Budgets; Safe Balance | Free; from NZ$9.99/mo billed annually | plans · bank feeds |
| Quicken Simplifi | Optional; United States | Manual accounts | Auto-detected series | Up to a year in advance | Savings goals and watchlists | US$6.99/mo billed annually; often promoted at US$3.99 | pricing · cash flow |
| Rocket Money | US institutions only | Paid tier supplement only | Detected from linked accounts | Its pages state nothing about a forward horizon | Financial goals | Free; Premium US$7 to $14/mo, a range in the vendor's own pricing data; Premium+ US$15/mo, a separate fixed tier | pricing · help |
| Snoop | Not needed to sign up; budgeting and spending tracking need one | Offline accounts you update yourself; bills can be added by hand | Bill-cover warnings; regular payments are detected rather than entered | A bills timeline to the end of the month, and the following month or pay cycle; no longer horizon stated | Its pages state nothing about a pot or a goal | Free; Plus £47.99/yr | help centre |
| Sorted budget planner | Its pages state nothing about a connection | Yes | Weekly to yearly frequencies | Its pages state nothing about a forecast | A separate goal planner | Free | planner |
| SortMe | Required, all plans | CSV import | Recurring income and bills, projected forward | 6 to 12 months | Goals | From NZ$29/mo | pricing · forecast |
| Spendee | Optional | Yes, primary on the free plan | Scheduled on manual wallets only | Not documented | Budgets | Free; Plus from $1.99/mo; the page names no currency | pricing · help |
| Steady | Onboarding starts by connecting a bank | CSV on the paid tier | Recurring-bill detection | 12 months on Plus; the free tier lists none | Goals | Free; Plus NZ$12.99/mo, introductory NZ$6.50 for 3 months | site |
| Toshl | Optional, top tier | Yes, primary on the free plan | Repeating entries on the paid tier | 5 future months on the paid tier, 4 on iOS | Budgets | Free; Pro US$19.99/yr | plans · App Store |
| Wallet by BudgetBakers | Optional, paid tier | Yes; the free tier is manual | Planned payments: manual or automatic | Expected balance after upcoming payments | Goals and budgets | Free plus a paid tier | product · planned payments |
| WeMoney | Required | Not documented | Recurring expenses | Not documented | Goals | Free; Pro A$9.99/mo or A$99/yr | Pro page |
| YNAB | Optional; US, Canada, UK and EU banks named | Yes, first-class | Scheduled transactions enter unapproved until you approve or an import matches | Not documented | Targets | US$109/yr | pricing |
What do the columns mean?
- Bank connection. Whether the app reads your transactions from your bank. "Required" means the app's own documentation describes the connection as how it works; "optional" means it documents a way to use the app without one.
- Recurring bills. What the app does once a repeating bill is set up: whether it posts the next one itself, waits for you to approve it, or simply reminds you.
- Forecast horizon. How far ahead the vendor states its forward projection reaches, and on which plan. Most budgeting apps document none, which is what a blank cell here means.
- Sinking funds or goals. Money set aside a little at a time for a bill that comes later. Every app has its own word for it, and the column uses that word.
What does Keep Above not do?
Most of the apps above capture your transactions for you, sort them into categories and show you what you spent. Keep Above does none of that. It shows no spending history, it does not know your real balance unless you enter it, and it does not move money or pay bills.
What it does instead is work forward. You enter each bill and your income once, keep your balance current now and then, and it works out the balance you would need to cover everything coming and projects that and your reserved funds ahead day by day. Whether that trade suits you is the whole question, and it is not one this page answers for you.
Who is Keep Above for?
The most useful thing a comparison can tell you is whether a thing is aimed at you at all, so here it is both ways round.
It is built for you if
You are paid on a cycle, weekly, fortnightly, four-weekly or monthly, and what you want to know is what would be safe to spend before the next pay. Your regular bills are fine and it is the irregular ones that catch you out. You would rather not log every purchase, or a bank feed is not available where you live. And you would rather see a tight spot before it lands than read about it afterwards.
It is not built for you if
You want a categorised record of where your money went, because Keep Above keeps none. You want transactions captured for you rather than a balance you update. You want to split costs with flatmates or track investments, neither of which it does. Or you would rather not keep one number current now and then, which is the one thing it asks of you and the thing everything else rests on.
Head to head
One page per app, each built around the thing that actually differs rather than a repeated feature list. Every competitor fact comes from that app's own pages on the date shown.
By country
Read further
Our comparison, not a review. Every cell describes what that app's own pages document, on the date shown above the table. Projections described here are conditional on the figures a person enters and on nothing changing. This page takes no account of your circumstances. Nothing here is financial advice.
Keep Above
Enter each bill and your income once, and keep your balance current now and then. Keep Above works out the balance you would need to cover everything coming, and projects your balance and your sinking funds — which it calls reserved funds — forward. No bank connection.
About this comparison
Who is Keep Above for?
People who are paid on a cycle and want to know what would be safe to spend before the next pay, whose irregular bills are the ones that catch them out, and who would rather not log every purchase or cannot link a bank where they live. It is not for someone who wants a categorised record of where their money went, because it keeps none.
What does Keep Above do differently?
It has no bank connection and keeps no spending history. You enter each bill and your income once and keep your balance current now and then, and it projects your balance and your sinking funds — which it calls reserved funds — forward from that, up to 30 years ahead on the free plan and on Premium alike.
What does Keep Above not do that these other apps do?
It does not capture your transactions automatically, categorise them, show you a spending history or produce category reports, and it does not know your real balance unless you enter it. It also does not move money or pay bills. Apps built around a bank connection do the first group, and transaction-logging apps keep the record.
What does it mean when a cell says nothing is stated?
Where an app's own documentation does not state something, the cell says its pages state nothing about it. That is a fact about the documentation, not a claim that the feature is absent. A cell reading Not offered means the vendor states the absence itself. Every cell traces to a page the vendor publishes, linked in the last column and checked on the date shown above the table, and where a row carries two links it takes both to cover it.
Is this an independent review?
No. It is written and maintained by Manandai Ltd, the company that makes Keep Above. There is no score, no star rating and no winner anywhere in this section, and the table is ordered alphabetically rather than by preference.
Keep Above
